Melina Pappademos


Shawn Salvant

Associate Director

Faculty and Staff

Bede Agocha

Assistant Professor in Residence

Alexis Boylan

Professor, Director of Academic Affairs of the Humanities Institute

Amanda Cannada

Institute Coordinator

Elaine Chu

Academic Advisor

Martha Cutter


David Embrick

Associate Professor, Director, Sustainable Global Cities Initiative, Hartford Campus

Dexter Gabriel

Assistant Professor

Martine Granby

Assistant Professor

Cato Laurencin

University Professor Core Faculty Member Africana Studies Institute, Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Jeffrey Ogbar

Professor and Director - Center for the Study of Popular Music

Fumilayo Showers

Assistant Professor

Fiona Vernal

Associate Professor

Headshot of Dr. Erika Williams

Erika Williams

Associate Professor

Affiliate Faculty

Headshot of Linda Barry

Linda Barry

Associate Professor, Director- Office of Multicultural and Community Affairs, Director- Visiting Externship for Underrepresented Students in Medicine (VESUM)

Kate Capshaw

Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Professor

Noel Cazenave


Shardé Davis

Assistant Professor

Katerina Gonzalez Seligmann

Associate Professor

Sandy Grande


Preston Green

John and Maria Neag Professor of Urban Education

Matthew Hughey


Guillermo Irizarry

Associate Professor

Fred Lee

Associate Professor

Adrienne Macki

Associate Professor

Black and White head shot of Micki McElya

Micki McElya


Headshot of Jennifer McGarry

Jennifer McGarry

Professor and Department Head

Melanie Newport

Assistant Professor

Grégory Pierrot

Associate Professor

Bhakti Shringarpure

Associate Professor

Evelyn Simien


Manisha Sinha

Professor and the James L. and Shirley A. Draper Chair in American History

Ayanna Spencer

Assistant Professor

Robert Stephens

Professor Emeritus

Ryan Talbert

Assistant Professor

Frank Tuitt

Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer at UConn, and Professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs